Astro-2 Flight Crew
Shuttle Commander: Stephen S. Oswald
Shuttle Pilot: Lt. Col. William G. Gregory(USAF)
Flight Engineer: Lt. Cmdr. Wendy B. Lawrence(USN)
Payload Commander: Dr. Tamara Jernigan
Mission Specialist: Dr. John M. Grunsfeld
Payload Specialist: Dr. Samuel T. Durrance
Payload Specialist: Dr. Ronald A. Parise
Alternate Payload Specialist: Scott D. Vangen

The crew is the orbital extension of the Astro team and helps ensure the maximum scientific return for the mission. The NASA astronauts provide a range of special knowledge, from the Shuttle and its systems to astronomy. Two crew members are not career astronauts but are astronomers chosen by the Astro-2 principal investigators. Known as payload specialists, they provide expertise on the instruments and key observations.

Mary Romelfanger (